8 comments on “RIP Horace Silver

  1. I gave “Song for my Father “to my Dad after my first Tour in Nam in 1969….I felt the strong connection and spirit Mr Silver must have felt when he wrote this for his Pops….Tho my Dad has been gone now for many years ,1976,..Whenever I hear this song it reminds me of him and the connection/friendship we had ….I gave this song to my son this past Fathers’ Day ,as a tribute to him becoming a new Dad this past year ….RIP Mr Silver you left behind a work that will outlive us all……Thankyou!

  2. Horace Silver, my dad and I spent many of Sunday mornings together in the yard, we listening to him via the stereo or cassettes. He was and will remain one of my favorites. ‘Song For My Father’ became an anthem for me and my dad’s relationship.

  3. Years ago I was standing by the packed bar at the Baked Potato in North Hollywood. I turned to my left, and standing right next to me was Horace Silver.

  4. RIP, Mr. Silver. I’ve only known your music for a few years; but I can tell you were one of the great ones. “Song for my Father” is a really classy piece. Thank you for sharing your talents.

Leave a Reply

